Skip to Main Content

Island Information

print small medium large 



The Canadian Government is a constitutional Monarchy, headed by the Governor-General who is Her Majesty the Queen's Canadian representative.

The Governor-General's role, like the Monarchy itself, is largely ceremonial and acts on the advice of Canada's Prime Minister.

The Canadian government consists of two chambers, a 308-member elected House of Commons and a 105-member appointed Senate. The federal government seated in the nation's capital, Ottawa, oversees national defence, trade and foreign affairs, banking, commerce, criminal law, and fisheries.
Provincial governments have a good degree of power, with jurisdiction over health, education, natural resources, and highways.

At the federal level, four Members of Parliament represent Prince Edward Island in the House of Commons and four Senators in the Senate.


Correct this information?

back to top