Wood Islands LighthouseBuilt in 1876, situated on the south side of the eastern portion of the Island. In 1941, a fog horn was requested to help the ferry in docking. In July of that year, the horn was received and made ready for operation. In 1958, the dwelling and light tower were electrified and the light itself operated on a 1000 watt airway beacon lamp and had changed from a fixed light to a flashing light.
To get there, at Wood Island, instead of going through the toll booth for the ferry to Caribou, Nova Scotia, turn off onto the bypass road which will take you up to Wood Island's Provincial Park. The lighthouse is in full view at the end of the same road. The original lightkeepers quarters are still an integral part of the structure. This light has the unique distinction of being the last lighthouse on PEI where the lightkeeper and his family lived right in the lighthouse.
Winter contact number: 962-2022
(Wood Islands Park Road)
[Turn Off Map]
For More Information
Telephone: (902) 962-3110
Facsimile: (902) 962-2017
Season: Open June to early September