Skip to Main Content

Municipal Affairs and Provincial Planning

print small medium large 



In Prince Edward Island, areas may incorporate as municipalities after following a process set out in the Municipalities Act. As of May 2011, roughly 30 per cent of the land mass of PEI was municipally incorporated.  The incorporated areas represent approximately 68 per cent of the province’s population. The remaining unincorporated areas have no form of local governance in place.

Under PEI legislation, municipalities fall into three categories; cities, towns, and communities.

The term ‘Community’ can lead to confusion, as it does not necessarily include civic addressing communities, historic settlement areas, or other community place names when used in the municipal context.  In some cases, municipal boundaries encompass or border long-established yet, unincorporated communities. In other cases, the municipality might cover some of a community but not all.

‘Communities’ include a range of former villages and former Community Improvement Committees (CICs), all of which are now designated as ‘Communities’ under the Municipalities Act (see Schedule 1 of the Act for more details).
As of June 2015, there were 73 municipalities on PEI (2 cities, 10 towns, and 61 communities). They vary in size from 150 acres to almost 57,000 acres, and in population from 72 to 32,174 residents.

Clicking on a municipality below will lead to the municipal directory, which includes information such as the location of the municipal office, municipal contact information, municipal office hours, a list of councillors, and the chief administrative officer/administrator.

Prince Edward Island Municipal Boundaries map

To determine if a property is located within a municipality, enter the street number or PID into the Address Locator Map and click "show address details".

back to top