Skip to Main Content

Public Service Commission

print small medium large 


Statutory Holidays

The following is the list of paid holidays as per the Collective Agreement, Article 22.01, Designated Statutory Holidays. For office-based employees, if a holiday falls on a scheduled day off (Saturday or Sunday), your holiday is moved to the following workday. 

The following is the list of designated statutory holidays:

(1) New Year's Day
(2) Islander Day 
(3) Good Friday
(4) Easter Sunday
(5) Victoria Day
(6) Canada Day
(7) Labour Day
(8) Thanksgiving Day
(9) Remembrance Day
(10) Christmas Eve Afternoon (4 hours)
(11) Christmas Day
(12) Boxing Day
(13) One additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Employer, in
consultation with the Union, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area; or,
where in the opinion of the Employer, no such additional day is recognized as a
civic holiday, the first Monday in August.
(14) Any other day observed as a provincial or national holiday, including Islander Day

(B) Where an employee observes religious holidays not included in Article 22.01, the Employer shall allow that employee to substitute his/her religious holidays for those days. If the employee is then required to work his/her holiday, he/she shall be compensated in the same manner as an employee required to work one of the holidays herein.
back to top