Skip to Main Content
print small medium large 

aussi disponible en français
September 1, 2010
For immediate release

Tourism and Culture Minister Robert Vessey Announces 2010 Island Book Awards

Tourism and Culture

Submissions for the 2010 Island Book Awards are being accepted until October 1, says Tourism and Culture Minister Robert Vessey.

“I am extremely impressed by the high quality of literature produced by Island authors, editors, and publishers,” said Minister Vessey. “The Island Book Awards will recognize and celebrate excellence in the literary work of Islanders.”

The Island Book Awards, presented biennially, recognize and reward excellence in publications by Island authors, editors, and creators.

This year, three awards will be presented: one for a work of fiction, one for a work of non-fiction, and one for a work of poetry.

An independent Island Book Awards jury considers the overall design, writing, illustration and presentation of each submitted book. Books submitted for consideration must be written in the calendar years 2008 or 2009 by an Island-based author, editor, or publisher. Books can be submitted in either English or French. Winners of the 2010 Island Book Awards will be announced at an awards presentation ceremony in mid-November at the Confederation Centre Public Library.

Richard Lemm was awarded a 2008 Island Book Award for fiction for his book Shape of Things to Come, published by Acorn Press. The non-fiction prize went to Georges Arsenault for La Mi-Carême en Acadie, published by La Grande Marée, and Ann Sherman accepted the poetry prize on behalf of her late husband Joseph Sherman for his book Beautiful Veins, also published by Acorn Press.

Submissions from authors or publishers for the 2010 Island Book Awards will be accepted until end of business on October 1, 2010. For complete eligibility information and submission details, please visit or call (902) 368-4787.

Media Contact: Julie Whitlock
back to top