Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

April 24, 2003
For immediate release

ITMG Receives ACETTPEI President's Award

Provincial Treasury

The Information Technology Management Group (ITMG) of Provincial Treasury will be recognized tonight as an exemplary employer by the Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Prince Edward Island (ACETTPEI). The President's Award is bestowed to an employer who promotes professional development and continuing education, recognizes the certification of its employees to ACETTPEI standards, and follows the association's Code of Ethics. This is the second annual award. Last year's winner was the APM Group.

The Information Technology Management Group is a division of the Provincial Treasury, with 65 employees supporting the use of information technology and telecommunications throughout the provincial government. "I am very pleased to have a government organization recognized by the province's engineering technologists and technicians," noted Provincial Treasurer Patricia J. Mella. "On behalf of government, I would like to thank ACETTPEI members who work in public sector for their contribution to delivering services to all Islanders in a multitude of capacities."

ITMG has a number of employees who have achieved the designation of CET (Certified Engineering Technologist/Technician). These individuals are instrumental in writing software, maintaining government information systems, or building telecommunications infrastructure.

ACETTPEI was established in 1972 and is Prince Edward Island's independent certifying body for engineering/applied science technicians and technologists. The association will present the President's Award to Minister Mella on April 24 at the 31st Annual General Meeting at the Dutch Inn in North River. "It's important that employers in this province continue to recognize the important role played by our members in so many areas of our society and our economy," noted ACETTPEI President Ross Barnes, CET. "This year's recipient has been a leader in promoting continuous learning and professional development with all of its staff, several of whom are members of our association. We congratulate them on their success."

Media Contact: Bill Drost
back to top