Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

May 12, 2004
For immediate release

Prince Edward Island Potato Board Nomination/Election Results

Agriculture, Fisheries, Aquaculture & Forestry

Recent nominations for election to the Potato Board has resulted in three producers being elected by acclamation to sit on the Board.

In the East District, Kevin MacIsaac, Bear River, was the only producer nominated for the processing producer position.

In the Central District, Donald Stavert, Lower Freetown, was the only producer nominated for the seed producer position.

In the Western District Peter Griffin, Elmsdale, was the only producer nominated for the tablestock producer position.

Since only one nomination was received for each district, in each case the nominee for that district was declared elected by acclamation.

The Prince Edward Island Potato Board consists of nine members, consisting of one seed producer, one tablestock producer, and one processing producer from each district. Members are elected to three-year terms with the positions being staggered with respect to region and sector representation.

The new directors will begin their term following the Annual Meeting in September.

Media Contact: Murray Myles
back to top