Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

December 13, 2006
For immediate release

MacKenzie will Chair Tourism Advisory Council, New Members Appointed


Honourable Philip Brown, Minister of Tourism, and David MacKenzie, Chair of the Tourism Advisory Council (TAC), announced today that eight new members have joined TAC and its three Committees.

“I am pleased that David MacKenzie agreed to Chair the Council for another year. His leadership, knowledge and passion to grow tourism are invaluable to this group,” noted Minister Brown.

“I am honoured to Chair the group,” noted David MacKenzie. “There has been keen interest from industry stakeholders to be a part of TAC and we are pleased to announce that eight members have been selected through a public call for applications.”

Robbie Shaw, Co-Chair of TAC for the past two years, will remain on the Council as Past Chair. Michelle Thompson, co-manager of Dalvay-by-the-Sea, will Chair the Marketing Committee; Kevin Murphy, President of Murphy’s Investments, will Chair the Product Development Committee; and Michael Bird, General Manager at the Delta Prince Edward, will Chair the Research Committee.

Two new members have joined the TAC Board. They are Joan Perrin, owner of Stonehedge by the Sea Beach House, and Thom MacMillan, owner of Meadow Lodge.

There were two additions to the Marketing Committee. Brenda Philp, owner of The Beach House Inn, and Marsha Doiron, Marketing Director with Strait Crossing Bridge Ltd., have joined the group.

Matthew Jelley, President of Shining Waters Family Fun Park, and Erskine Smith, Artistic Director of the Victoria Playhouse, will be members of the Product Development Committee.

Tim Nicholls, owner of Outside Expeditions, and Leanne Devine, Visitor Services Coordinator with Parks Canada, will join the Research Committee.

TAC was formed in December 2004 and, since that time, industry and government have been working in partnership to make decisions that are in the best interest for tourism in Prince Edward Island. Overall, forty industry stakeholders from across the Island are involved in tourism planning.

Media Contact: Monette Pasher
back to top