Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

June 12, 2007
For immediate release

Prince Edward Island Cabinet Appointed

Executive Council

Robert Ghiz was sworn in today as Premier of the Province of Prince Edward Island. The ceremony was presided over by Lieutenant-Governor Barbara Hagerman at Government House.

Mr. Ghiz was first elected on 29 September 2003 as the Member of the Legislative Assembly for Charlottetown - Rochford Square and Leader of the Official Opposition. He was subsequently re-elected on 28 May 2007 as the Member of the Legislative Assembly for Charlottetown - Brighton.

Premier Ghiz named the following members to Executive Council:

∙ Robert W. J. Ghiz ~ Premier, President of Executive Council and Minister Responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs

∙ Ron W. MacKinley ~ Minister of Transportation and Public Works

∙ Richard E. Brown ~ Minister of Development and Technology

∙ Carolyn I. Bertram ~ Minister of Communities, Cultural Affairs and Labour

∙ Allan V. Campbell ~ Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture

∙ Doug W. Currie ~ Minister of Health and Minister of Social Services and Seniors

∙ Valerie E. Docherty ~ Minister of Tourism

∙ L. Gerard Greenan ~ Minister of Education and Attorney General

∙ Neil J. LeClair ~ Minister of Agriculture

∙ Wes J. Sheridan ~ Provincial Treasurer

∙ George T. Webster ~ Minister of Environment, Energy, and Forestry

A further appointment announced by Premier Ghiz:

∙ Robert Vessey ~ Government House Leader

Media Contact: Island Information Service
back to top