Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

April 11, 2012
For immediate release

Call for nominations for the 2012 Prince Edward Island Environmental Awards

Environment, Labour and Justice

Islanders are encouraged to nominate environmental leaders in their communities for the 2012 Prince Edward Island Environmental Awards, says Minister of Environment, Labour and Justice Janice Sherry.

“The Prince Edward Island Environmental Awards are an excellent way to show appreciation to people who have made a special contribution to enhancing and protecting our environment,” said Minister Sherry. “The awards give well-deserved recognition to individuals, community groups, schools, or anyone who has demonstrated strong environmental stewardship.”

The deadline for nominations for the 2012 Environmental Awards is May 1. Nominations will be assessed by members of the Prince Edward Island Environmental Advisory Council. To be eligible for an award, nominees must have been instrumental in:

• identifying, reducing, solving or avoiding an environmental problem;

• demonstrating consistently responsible environmental management practices; and/or

• promoting public awareness, understanding and active concern for the enhancement and protection of the environment.

The review committee will also consider the nominee’s long-term service and commitment, voluntary contributions and innovative approach. Schools are eligible for the St. Teresa’s Environmental School Challenge which includes a prize of $1,500. Last year’s winner was Montague Intermediate for greening and beautifying the school property by planting 300 native trees in a hedgerow.

Last year’s recipients also included Karl Smallman, a potato producer, well known for his active involvement promoting environmental awareness and protection. Clive Stewart was recognized for his work restoring and preserving his forest stand in Stratford and creating trails for public use. Ann Wheatley’s long-time work with provincial watershed groups was recognized, as well as her efforts for nurturing a new generation of volunteer youth for the environmental movement. The president of the L. M. Montgomery Land Trust, Peter Rukavina, was given an award for his work preserving 400 acres of the spectacular coastline, known as the L.M. Montgomery Seashore in French River.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony in June. Nomination forms are available online in English and French at and are also available at the Access PEI sites; the Eastern, Western and French school board offices; the Federation of Agriculture; from watershed groups; or by calling the Department of Environment, Labour and Justice at (902) 368-5059.

Media Contact: Kim Devine
back to top