Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

May 21, 2014
For immediate release

Island authors honoured at Atlantic Book Awards

Tourism and Culture

A collection of tremendously talented Island authors were recognized for their outstanding work tonight as they were presented with Prince Edward Island Book Awards during the Atlantic Book Awards Gala in Charlottetown, said Minister of Tourism and Culture Robert Henderson.

“These authors put their heart and soul into their work and they are well deserving of the awards they received tonight,” said Minister Henderson. “Island authors make an invaluable contribution to our province’s culture and heritage, and the PEI Book Awards are a great way to highlight their talents. We congratulate all the winning authors, the nominees and everyone who helped in the creation of these titles.”

The winners of the PEI Book Awards are as follows:

Prize for Fiction

Riptides: New Island Fiction, Edited by Richard Lemm

Prize for Non-Fiction

Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’Kmaq of Prince Edward Island, By AJB Johnston and Jesse Francis

Prize for Poetry

A Gathering of Twigs, By The TWiG Collective

Also honoured at the awards ceremony was Island publisher Harry Baglole. Baglole founded Ragweed Press and was awarded the first ever Pioneer Award for his contribution to the literary landscape in Atlantic Canada as part of the Atlantic Book Awards.

Media Contact: Andrew Sprague
back to top