Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

aussi disponible en français
August 28, 2007
For immediate release

New School Trustees Appointed


Executive Council has approved the appointment of two new school trustees. They will fill positions left vacant by resignations in the Eastern School District and the Western School Board.

Edna Reid of Johnston’s River will now represent Zone 6 in the Eastern School District. Ms. Reid is the president of the Home and School Association at Donagh Regional School. She replaces Leza Matheson-Wolters.

Paul McAlduff of Tignish will fill the position left vacant on the Western School Board by the resignation of Neil LeClair. Mr. McAlduff, formerly the property supervisor for the Western School Board, will represent the residents of Zone 1.

The terms of the new trustees will expire in 2008 when trustees will be elected to all positions on all three school boards. General school board elections are held every three years.

“We are fortunate that these very capable new trustees have agreed to serve,” said Education Minister Gerard Greenan. “Both Ms Reid and Mr. McAlduff have extensive knowledge of our school system and they have demonstrated their strong interest in education in numerous ways.”

Members of the Eastern School District are Robert Clow, Chair, Anne Miller, Sandy Clark, Richard A. Collins, Julius Patkai, Phil Matusiewicz, David MacDonald, Ronald Lee, Gael MacEachern and Alan MacPhee.

Western School Board Trustees include Gary Doucette, Chair, Janet Yeo, Nancy Wallace, John Arnold, Dean Bryan, Gerald Meek, Don MacLean and Austin Johnston.

Serving on the French Language School Board are Robert Maddix, Chair, Arthur Buote, Felix Jr. Arsenault, Francine Arsenault, Jay Gallant, Bobby Perry, Rita Schyle-Arsenault and Danielle Mill.

Media Contact: Jean Doherty
back to top