Skip to Main Content

Web Archive

print small medium large 

aussi disponible en français
February 20, 2006
For immediate release

Heritage Commemoration Program Announced

Community and Cultural Affairs

Protected heritage buildings across the province will soon be identified by easily recognizable commemorative plaques as the result of a new program announced today by Community and Cultural Affairs Minister Elmer MacFadyen.

Making the announcement at one of the provincial government’s heritage day initiatives, Mr. MacFadyen noted that this project is linked with the Historic Places Initiative across the country, which seeks to raise public awareness of significant buildings and features.

“These new plaques will be handsome identifiers for protected buildings across the province and will symbolize the commitment of both public and private property owners to recognize and maintain heritage places.”

The blue and gold plaques will be available for display on buildings designated under the province’s Heritage Places Protection Act. Because both Charlottetown and Summerside have their own heritage by-laws, the provincial plaquing program does not apply in those locations except in the case of heritage buildings owned by the province. Minister MacFadyen noted that the province is working with both municipalities to develop municipal plaques with a consistent design so that similar plaques will be in use across the province.

“By using a consistent design, the public will be able to easily recognize if the building is a protected structure and we hope that the cities will agree to use a province-wide look for the plaques,” said the Minister.

At present, 17 properties have received designated status from the province. These include: Government House, The Customs House, J. Angus MacLean Building, Hon. George Coles Building and Province House in Charlottetown; The Yeo House in Port Hill; the Atwell House in Clyde River; Kings County Court House; Basin Head Cannery; Alberton Courthouse Museum; D.E. Clarke’s General Store; St. Andrew’s Church and the community school in Orwell; Summerside Law Courts; the Doucet House in Rustico; Princetown United Church in Malpeque and the Elmira Railway Museum.

For listings of recognized Prince Edward Island heritage places, as well as those listed from across the country, visit

Media Contact: Darin MacKinnon
back to top